A Cyborg Reunion

With my daily gym routine this whole rehab caper really isn’t so bad. In the gym everyone is starting to look familiar and it feels quite comfortable and almost like a family.

The oldies are funny in their own ways and always provide me with a laugh.

Today there is a little old Italian lady having a conversation in Italian with another old lady who is responding in Chinese. I’m sure neither of them has any idea what the other is saying but they seem to be having a great time.

I share a smile with Chris. They are so cute.

I am enjoyimhg working hard, pushing myself and feeling like I have my own personal trainer with Chris throwing various exercises and challenges at me.

He challenges me to do tricep dips on the parallel bars. I struggle but love the challenge. I want to master this by the time I leave this place. Chris seems happy he has found something I struggle with.

One of the physios comments that I am making her tired just watching me.

But I am loving it and only want to push myself harder. There is nothing like the rush when the endorphins kick in midway through a workout and you feel unstoppable and like you can achieve anything. For me exercising is when life makes sense. It makes me feel strong and capable and gives me an opportunity to feel like my disability doesn’t hold me back at all.

Another day, another weight loading session

Another day, another weight loading session

At 40kg the weight loading is heavy and hard to hold down but I am so close to my goal and walking so it’s easy to grit my teeth, breathe and persevere.

Doing my core exercises and leg raises I can feel the skin sticking to the metal rod. The pushing and pulling is painful and pinches with each move.

Chris takes a look at it and says to massage it each day to loosen the skin. He then inspects the plastic disc that sits on top of the rod.

“I think it’s on backwards,” he says.

I laugh nervously.

God I hope not.

How could the surgeon have got this wrong? When he pulls on the rod to see if he can pull the disc off pain shoots up the bone. Looks like it is staying where it is for now.

Ali arrives at lunchtime and I eagerly crutch down to her room. I am so excited to have her here to share this whole rehab business with.

She tells me that she didn’t have any ketamine or barely any pain meds in hospital. I feel slightly inadequate since I had to be on the ketamine for two days. I feel worse when she tells me she started weight loading today at 10kg.

Later Chris reminds me to stop comparing myself to others, everyone is different and with my hip I am particularly unique. Still I feel frustrated that I have taken so long to get to where I am now. I feel like I have failed in some way, that I am not strong enough.

I watch the nurses struggle to dress Ali’s wound and I feel grateful I was in hospital for this part as they were great there and knew exactly what they were doing. They don’t even have the proper dressings here yet.

I take a peek at Ali’s wound. It looks fantastic, no ooze at all and exactly like a piercing, so clean and perfectly round. I feel a flicker of wound envy. Mine isn’t as deep nor looks as neat but it has almost closed right up so I’m grateful and satisfied with this.

It’s so good to see her and know that we’ll be able to do physio together tomorrow.

Daniel will be an outpatient but we’ll get to see him on Monday.

It’s a cyborg reunion.

Leave a Reply

