On The Move

This morning I had been told that today I would be allowed to get out of bed and go for a my first walk, well my first crutch.

I await the physio’s visit eagerly and clamber to my feet when she does arrive with my walking frame.

- Crutching for the first time

– Crutching for the first time

My leg feels heavy and uncomfortable as I stand upright and I feel a little dizzy and light headed. She tells me to take it slowly as I make my way out of the room and into the hallway. I only go a small way but the pride I feel is as if I have walked a small marathon.

Sitting up in a chair is like a small piece of heaven after laying down in bed for almost a week.

Since I am no longer on the ketamine, it’s time for me to move out of the high dependency ward and into the orthopedic ward.

I swap my view of the bush that looks like a Transformer for a view of a courtyard.

I am also allowed to wear underwear and nightie for this first time in a week. The nurse was taken aback by my excitement when she informed me of this.

It really is the simple things that bring the most joy.

Leave a Reply

