Pain

This might sound a little sickening to some but there are days where my life just seems almost perfect. I have a job where I am lucky enough to write about my passions each day. I get to talk to celebrities, listen to new music and see the latest movies and get paid for it!

I have a great group of friends, enjoy working out with my gym buddies and have plenty of fun activities to fill my time with.

The thought of leaving all of this behind even for a short time sends a shiver of sadness and a flash of terror through me. How will I cope being away from a life I love for so long?

And then the pain hits.

This morning at the gym I did a pretty sweaty workout where I pushed my body to the limit. Like a drug addict I rode high on the endorphins as I pushed myself on the cross-trainer.

But then I stepped off and I knew instantly I was going to pay for this workout for the rest of the day, if not the next few days.

Filled with sweat, my leg could barely grip to my skin and each step towards the car was like walking on broken glass.

I sat at my desk and many times today wanted to go to the toilet but the short walk to the bathroom seemed almost too painful to deal with so I simply just distracted myself with other tasks.

Then tonight I was supposed to go shopping with one of my best friends. There was no way I was going to give up an evening of fun because of my leg and like so many other times I just gritted my teeth, painted a smile on my face and sucked it up.

I may love my life, but boy, I can’t wait to be rid of this pain. Looking down at my rubbed raw and blistered skin I know without a shadow of a doubt that I am making the right choice in having this operation.

Leave a Reply

